fr en de

Azura's 100% carbon neutral

 

The guarantee of carbon neutrality on all production of tomatoes, herbs and flowers

As of December 2020, the Azura Group, a tomato producer and supermarkets supplier, becomes 100% carbon neutral. From production (tomatoes, aromatic herbs, edible flowers) to support functions, nearly 192 t CO000e will be offset each year, through the support of two projects: the construction of a wind farm in Morocco and the production sustainable Brazil nut within the Amazon rainforest in Peru.

Key figures

  • 100%: All of the CO2e emissions of Azura tomatoes, herbs and flowers will be the subject of a reduction or compensation program each year
  • 20%: This is the amount of CO2e emissions that Azura has reduced since 2010.
  • 2: These are the projects supported by Azura as part of offsetting all of its CO2e emissions.

the azura environmental approach

azura environmental approach

Glossary

Carbon neutral
The term “carbon neutral” refers to reducing the CO2 emissions of a product or a company to Zero by one of two mechanisms: reduction or compensation.

Carbon footprint of companies
A company's carbon footprint is the result of its carbon footprint. The emissions taken into account are divided into three categories: emissions controlled or generated directly by the company, by the purchase of energy or by indirect emissions upstream and downstream (raw materials, logistics, disposal, transport employees, etc.).

CO2 equivalents
Each greenhouse gas has a different impact on global warming and can stay in the atmosphere for different lengths of time. Therefore, for ease of comparison, they have been converted to “CO2 equivalents”. This means that when we talk about CO2 equivalents (CO2e), all the gases defined below in the Kyoto Protocol are taken into account: carbon dioxide (CO2), methane (CH4), nitrous oxide ("laughing gas", N2O), fluorocarbons (H-FKW / HFC), perfluorinated hydrocarbons (FKW / PFC), sulfur hexafluoride (SF6) and nitrogen trifluoride (NF3).

Carbon offset projects
Carbon offset projects help eliminate or prevent greenhouse gases from remaining in or entering the atmosphere through initiatives such as forest protection, afforestation or the use of renewable energies. Carbon offset projects also contribute to sustainable development by ensuring the supply of drinking water or by developing local infrastructures that create employment opportunities for local communities and help to preserve biodiversity. To be considered as participating in carbon offsetting, projects must meet the following criteria: additionality, exclusion of double counting, permanence and regular verification by an independent third party.

Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
The Sustainable Development Goals refer to the 17 goals established by the Member States of the United Nations and which are brought together in the Agenda 2030. This agenda was adopted by the UN in September 2015. They define targets to be achieved by the horizon 2030. The targets are 169 in number and are common to all the countries involved. The objectives are a response to the “5Ps”: people, prosperity, planet, peace, partnerships.

carbon neutral stages

 

 

Find us on...

Instagramlinked infacebookyoutube
Azura

Azura Group

  • 332 street of Turin
  • 66034 Perpignan - France
  • Such. : + 33 (0) 4 68 55 55 44 - Fax: + 33 (0) 4 68 55 50 01

Website realization: Website creation by Pixim Communication

fr en de

Le 100 % carbone neutre d'Azura

 

La garantie de la neutralité carbone sur toute la production de tomates, d’herbes et de fleurs

Dès décembre 2020, le Groupe Azura, producteur de tomates et fournisseur de la grande distribution, devient 100% neutre en carbone. De la production (tomates, herbes aromatiques, fleurs comestibles) aux fonctions supports, ce sont près de 192 000 t CO2e qui seront compensées chaque année, à travers le soutien de deux projets : la construction d’une ferme éolienne au Maroc et la production durable de noix du Brésil au sein de la forêt amazonienne au Pérou.

Chiffres clés

  • 100% : C’est l’ensemble des émissions de CO2e des tomates, herbes et fleurs d’Azura qui vont faire l’objet d’un programme de réduction ou de compensation chaque année
  • 20% : C’est la quantité des émissions de CO2e qu’Azura a réduit depuis 2010.
  • 2 : Ce sont les projets soutenus par Azura dans le cadre de la compensation de l’ensemble de ses émissions de CO2e.

la démarche environnementale azura

démarche environnementale azura

Glossaire

Neutre en carbone
Le terme « neutre en carbone » désigne le fait de ramener à Zéro les émissions de CO2 d’un produit ou d’une entreprise par un des 2 mécanismes : réduction ou compensation.

Empreinte carbone des entreprises
L'empreinte carbone d’une entreprise est le résultat de son bilan Carbone. Les émissions prises en compte sont réparties en trois catégories : émissions contrôlées ou générées directement par l'entreprise, par l'achat d'énergie ou par des émissions indirectes en amont et en aval (matières premières, la logistique, l'élimination, transport des salariés, etc.).

Équivalents CO2
Chaque gaz à effet de serre a un impact différent sur le réchauffement climatique et peut rester dans l’atmosphère pour des durées différentes. Par conséquent, pour faciliter la comparaison, ils ont été convertis en « équivalents CO2 ». Cela signifie que lorsque l’on parle d’équivalents CO2 (CO2e), l’ensemble des gaz ci-après définis dans le Protocole de Kyoto, sont pris en compte : dioxyde de carbone (CO2), méthane (CH4), oxyde nitreux ("gaz hilarant", N2O), fluorocarbures (H-FKW/HFC), hydrocarbures perfluorés (FKW/PFC), hexafluorure de soufre (SF6) et azote trifluorure (NF3).

Projets de compensation carbone
Les projets de compensation carbone contribuent à éliminer ou à empêcher les gaz à effet de serre de rester ou d'entrer dans l'atmosphère par des initiatives telles que la protection des forêts, le boisement ou le recours à des énergies renouvelables. Les projets de compensation carbone contribuent par ailleurs au développement durable en assurant l'approvisionnement en eau potable ou en développant les infrastructures locales qui créent des possibilités d'emploi pour les communautés locales et contribuent à préserver la biodiversité. Pour être considérés comme participant de la compensation carbone, les projets doivent répondre aux critères suivants : additionnalité, exclusion du double comptage, permanence et vérification régulière par une tierce partie indépendante.

Objectifs de développement durable (ODD)
Les Objectifs de développement durable désignent les 17 objectifs établis par les États membres des Nations unies et qui sont rassemblés dans l'Agenda 2030. Cet agenda a été adopté par l'ONU en septembre 2015. Ils définissent des cibles à atteindre à l'horizon 2030. Les cibles sont au nombre de 169 et sont communes à tous les pays engagés. Les objectifs sont une réponse aux « 5P » : peuple, prospérité, planète, paix, partenariats.

etapes carbone neutre

 

 

Retrouvez-nous sur...

instagramlinked infacebookyoutube
Azura

Azura Group

  • 332 rue de Turin
  • 66034 Perpignan - France
  • Tél. : +33 (0)4 68 55 55 44 - Fax : +33 (0)4 68 55 50 01

Réalisation de site : Réalisation de site par Pixim Communication